Photo: Zorka Wollny, Concert for High Heels, fot. Adam T. Burton

über Zorka Wollny

Zorka Wollny, Concert for High Heels, fot. Adam T. Burton

Zorka Wollny's works straddle the line between theatrical and visual art and are closely connected to the history and architecture of the respective locations. Using classical instruments, everyday objects and vocals, Wollny creates immersive soundscapes of harmonic sound and site-specific noise. Her work has been presented at the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw, the National Museum in Krakow, the Chicago Architecture Biennale, Steirischer Herbst, Hebbel am Ufer, CTM Festival, and Savvy Contemporary, among others. She works as an associate professor at the Szczecin Academy of Arts.

Website of Zorka Wollny

Overtone Hive, TRAFO Center for Contemporary Art 2020, photo Andrzej Golc

Singing Machine

Zeche Hannover, Bochum

Zorka Wollny is developing a soundscape for Zeche Hannover, in which the influx of people looking for work from “all over Europe” is metaphorically taken up as a “flow of energy”. The Polish artist deals with the influences of European labor migration on the Ruhr region with a special focus on Polish-German life in the German state of NRW. The Malakow Tower of Zeche Hannover becomes a space-consuming sound installation that transforms voices from different communities in Bochum into a physically palpable listening experience.

From the middle of the 19th century, thousands of people from various parts of Europe moved to the Ruhr region and found employment in heavy industry, for example, at the Hanover mine. The workforce at that time consisted largely of Polish, Belgian, French, Italian, Spanish, Greek, Turkish, and Portuguese workers. The artist works with residents and newcomers from Bochum. In doing so, she illuminates the collective fears and visions that relate to ecological and economic transformation processes.

Zorka Wollny (PL/GER)

Sound Design:
Steven McEvoy (IRL/DK)/ Bátor Tóth (HU/DE)

Anastasia Osoianu (MD/GER) – voice/ Bidisha Das (IND/GER) – electronic instruments/ voice/ Gîvara Efrîn (SYR/GER) – Saz, voice/ Mohamad Tamem (SYR/GER) – darbuka, flute, accordion/ Ralf Lambrecht (Bed/Ruhristan Medine) – tuba, sousaphone, trombone/ Shevan Tamo (SYR/GER) – guitar/ Su Dönmez (TR/GER) – voice / electronic- and bass guitar

Documentation (Insa Langhorst):

More about the project